Research Databases

A B C E F G H I L N O P R S T W
List of research database titles, descriptions and links
about:books
about:books

Information about books and authors.

Use this resource
Proquest African American Heritage
African American Heritage

A groundbreaking digital resource exclusively devoted to African American family history research.

This collection was created in partnership with leading African American genealogists and recognized leaders in genealogical information to develop a comprehensive mix of resources, records, and tools specifically pertaining to African Americans.

Use this resource
American and English full text literature collections
American and English Literature Collection

Electronic books of American and English literature: poetry, drama, fiction, and the Bible.

Use this resource
Ancestry Library edition screenshot
Ancestry Library Edition

(In-library use only) U. S. Census records; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; petitions for naturalization; passenger lists and more. You must be in the library to access this database.

Use this resource
biography reference bank
Biography Reference Center

Biography Reference Center is a collection of full-text biographies on notable personalities from around the world, including actors, authors, world leaders, inventors .

Use this resource
business source premier
Business Source Premier

Company and market reports

Use this resource
Chilton library
Chilton Library

Fix your car, truck, van, or SUV with these diagnostics, maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, and step-by-step repair procedures. Available at home or on your device - all you need is your library card number.

Use this resource
CLEVNET databases
CLEVNET Databases

As a CLEVNET card holder, you can access high-quality databases of full-text periodicals from within your public library and from home. CLEVNET card holders also have access to databases provided by OPLIN (Ohio Public Library Information Network). For your convenience, those databases are also included in this list. 

 

Use this resource
consumer health complete
Consumer Health Complete

Everyday health care information.

Use this resource
Consumer reports. Smarter choices for a better world
Consumer Reports

Search Consumer Reports magazine for full text articles from 1991 to the present. Find product evaluations, articles on public safety, health, marketplaces, and legal decisions that affect consumers

Use this resource
explora primary
Explora Primary School

A trustworthy environment for students and educators in grades K through 5 to look up facts for class projects or homework.

Use this resource
exploa secondary schools
Explora Secondary Schools

Designed for students and educators in grades 6 through 12 for students to look up articles and facts for research papers or homework.

Use this resource
fold3 by ancestry
Fold3

The Web's Premier Collection of Military Records from Rev War to WWII. Historic war records. 

Use this resource
Gale in context elementary
Gale In Context: Elementary

The perfect educational product for today's young learners. It is a content-rich, authoritative, easy-to-use digital resource featuring age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics.

Use this resource
Heritage quest online
Heritage Quest Online

HeritageQuest features the U. S. Census, 1790-1930 (1850-60 Slave Census Schedules not included), The Periodical Source Index (PERSI), A digitized collection of more than 25,000 family and local history books, Records from the Revolutionary War Era Pension and Bounty-Land Warrant Application Files and Freedman's Bank Records (1865-1874).

Use this resource
Hobbies and crafts reference screenshot
Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center

This database offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Full text is provided from leading hobby and craft magazines.

Use this resource
tools
Home Improvement Reference Center

The online resource for home improvement assistance in areas such as repair, maintenance, remodeling, electrical work and much more.

Use this resource
Word InfoOhio
INFOhio

As a partner in Libraries Connect Ohio, INFOhio licenses and makes available high-quality, digital, teaching and learning content that all Ohio PreK-12 students, their parents, and their teachers can use at school, at home, and on the go. 

Use this resource
lterary reference center
Literary Reference Center

Provides the most relevant information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. It gives students, teachers and librarians a complete foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs. 

Use this resource
novelist
Novelist K-8 Plus & Novelist Plus

Get access through CLEVNET research databases site.

Novelist Plus helps readers of all ages or those who help readers find fiction and non-fiction books they will enjoy. Using simple search techniques, find helpful resources such as expert reading recommendations, read-alikes, book discussion guides, thematic book lists and more.

Use this resource
Ohio web library
Ohio Web Library

The Ohio Web Library databases are funded in part by an IMLS grant and allow all Ohio residents to access homework resources, encyclopedias, genealogy information, and more.

Use this resource
oxford research encyclopedias
Oxford Research Encyclopedias

Oxford University Press works with international communities of scholars across all fields of study to develop new comprehensive collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on an ever-growing range of topics.

Use this resource
get a balanced perspective on current events
Points of View Reference Center

Resources that present multiple sides of an issue to help develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills.

Use this resource
Reference USA
Reference USA

Directory information for 11 million U.S. businesses and 120 million U.S. households. Search for businesses by SIC code, sales volume number of employees and more. Search for residence directory information by name, location or phone number.

Use this resource
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

Over 40,000 detailed maps of Ohio cities drawn between 1882 and 1962.

Use this resource
Science Reference Center
Science Reference Center

Contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources.

Use this resource
Small Business Reference Center
Small Business Reference Center

Small Business Reference Center offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. It includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.

Use this resource
Transparent Language
Transparent Languages

Provides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language.With over 100 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 26 languages, there is something for every learner.

Use this resource
What tree is it?
What Tree Is It?

Identify Ohio trees by name (common or scientific), leaf, or fruit.

Use this resource
What's that snake?
What's That Snake?

Ohio snake identification guide.

Use this resource
wha't the point
What's The Point

Identifying flint artifacts

Use this resource
world book online
World Book

Information resources for pre-school through college.

Use this resource
World book kids
World Book Kids

Thousands of colorful illustrations, diagrams, and maps enrich thousands of articles, with teacher guides.

Use this resource